The Romanit Palace has been performing the function of headquarters of the Art Collections Museum since 1978. However, before this date, the Romanit Palace was used, for most of its historical trajectory, as financial and administrative institution.

Built in the early 19th century, but left unfinished by its original owner (C. Faca), the palace was bought in the 1820s by Grigore Romanit, the Greek treasurer of Prince Grigore Ghica.

By force of the fact Grigore Romanit had the construction works completed and due to the fact he furnished and decorated the building with unparalleled luxury and taste at the time, the palace understandably got to bear his name. After the death of Romanit (in 1834), the palace successively became Chancellery under Prince Alexandru Ghica, and then granted to the Administrative Court and to the Ministry of Finance.

At present, the Romanit Palace is a must-visit not only due to the fact it is home to the abovementioned Art Collections Museum, but also because it is located on Calea Victoriei, one of the historical and most celebrated avenues in Bucharest.

Romanit Palace (Palatul Romanit)
111, Calea Victoriei, Bucharest, Romania

111, Calea Victoriei, Bucharest, Romania

Go to top