The construction works at the nowadays Zlătari Parish Church started in 1850, and they were carried out by following the design of Xavier Villacrosse. However, the original place of worship dates back to the mid 17th century, during the reign of Matei Basarab, when, in all likelihood, the church was made of wood. Until 1903, the church was located in the precincts of an inn, but the latter, as well as the bell tower of the church, were pulled down, a sacrifice the local authorities had to make in order to expand Calea Victoriei.

The church does not stand out in sharp relief by its architectural merits. Yet, on the other hand, the artistic patrimony is one of its most prized highlights. Thus, the church boasts of its interior pictorial works by Gheorghe Tattarescu, and of its silver polished rood screen and icons. In terms of scared objects, the wonder-working mortal remains of Saint Ciprian are the most valuable possessions.

The name of the church comes from the denomination of the craft trade which had funded the construction of the church (in Romanian, “zlătari”, meaning gypsy masters specialized in the processing of gold).

Name:
Zlătari Parish Church (Parohia Zlătari)
Address:
12, Calea Victoriei, Bucharest, Romania
Telephone:
0040 021 3138341
Email:
parohia@zlatari.ro
Website:
www.zlatari.ro

12, Calea Victoriei, Bucharest, Romania

Go to top